Jan Svankmajer

Watching a bit of Jan Svankmajer recently in preparation for a new project (First post-uni one, only two week after completing my degree. Not bad not bad)

Will post more info once I know what I need to do

But really excited by his work. I’ve seen quite a few things I had never seen puppets do in his films and he’s got an interesting approach to showing the puppets as puppets before they are brought to life. Not sure if it works or not but it’s got me thinking. He’s also the first person I’ve seen make a puppet bleed. And his filming style is very distinctive and interesting. Also never seen a puppet feed an animal and that blw my mind somewhat. Its starting the brain ticking!

Leave a Reply

